User manual

Roles and Permissions


User roles are formed based on the set of permissions that grant users different levels of access within the application. Also, each application module (test, pool, group, survey, etc.) can have its managers who control every action within it.

GetCertified allows the administrator to create new and manage existing user roles and permissions.

    Predefined roles in the system are:

  1. "Student" - A student is a user with basic permissions in the system. A student has permission to take tests, surveys, and training courses. Also, a student is allowed to view and print personal certificates.
  2. "Administrator" - An administrator is a role that has all the permissions in the system. An administrator manages all modules in the system.
  3. "Proctor" - Proctor role has higher-level permissions than a regular user. Proctors can view the tests where they are assigned to as proctors and can follow the candidate's progress on these tests.
  4. "Instructor" - An instructor role is a role with higher-level permissions than a regular user. Instructors can manage their groups, pools, tests, and reports but can only view the content not managed by them.

Besides the predefined roles, you can create an unlimited number of custom roles with specific permissions. Visit the Create new role help section to see how to create a custom security role.

Check the video instructions on how to create a new role with custom permissions.

  1. Accessing the page

    To manage roles and permissions, click on the "Users" tab in the application's toolbar and then choose "Roles and permissions".

  2. Page layout

    "Roles and permissions" is another section under the "User" management menu. It allows an administrator to create new and manage the existing user roles and their permissions. The table on the ''Roles and permissions'' page contains all the roles that exist in the system. An administrator can choose any role, view it, and edit its permissions.

      To edit an existing security role or create a new one with selected permissions, you should enter:

    1. Role name - it is displayed on each profile ("Student", "Instructor", "Administrator", " Proctor").
    2. Role code - it is used for loading users through the Excel template. It links the users you want to load with existing roles in the application.
    3. External ID - it is used for integration with external systems. For example, when loading a user with the Instructor role, the entered External ID must be the same as the template's External ID. If not, the default role assigned to the user will be Student.
    4. Role description - it describes any edited or created role in the system.

      The next steps in updating a new role in the system are :

    1. Select the permissions you want to give to the role.
    2. Click the "Update" button.

    Note: To navigate the list of all roles, click on the "Roles and permissions" heading.

      To delete an existing role in the system, follow these steps :

    1. Click on the can icon next to the role you want to delete.
    2. Confirm by clicking on the "Yes" button.
  3. New role

      To create a new role, follow these steps:

    1. Click on the "New role" button.
    2. Enter the role name.
    3. Enter the External ID.
    4. Enter the description of a role you are creating.
      Note: This field is not obligatory.

      To assign the permissions to any role in the system, follow these steps:

    1. Select the permissions you want to give to the role you` are creating.
    2. Click the "Create" button to save the changes you have created .
    3. Click the "Cancel" button if you want to discard the creation of a new user role.

    The following example serves to explain the primary purpose of using roles and permissions.
    A user needs to have specific permissions that will allow him to manage any group in the system. Please note that only the users with an administrator role can assign permissions to other users.

      To do so, an administrator should:
    1. Give the user such permissions that will allow him to preview the group page (permission 17. Access the "Groups page").
    2. After permitting the user to preview the group's page, the administrator assigns the user as the manager of the specific group to give him/her the manager privileges.
      To conclude :
    1. There is no need to check the permission "20. Manage any group" to grant the user the privilege to be a group manager.
    2. Also, if the permission "20. Manage any group" is checked, it does not mean that the user will become the manager of every group.
    3. It means only that he/she has permission to become the manager of a group.

  4. Predefined reports

    Predefined reports are the same reports that are listed in the Reports - Predefined reports section. For more information, visit Predefined reports .
    Predefined reports are directly related to user roles. When the administrator allows him to report access to a specific role, all the users in the system can view it.
    Also, a user can be permitted to view only limited data within the report.
    For example, the Instructor cannot view all tests' results in the system, but only the results he is assigned as a manager.
    That means only the ''Manage any test'' permission grants you the right to preview all test results.

    1. After creating a new role, click on the "Access to predefined reports" tab.
    2. Browse through the list of available reports and click on "Enabled" or "Disabled" to enable/disable report access for the created user role.
    3. Click the "Disable all" and select from the drop-down list to enable or disable all the reports.

YouTestMe Wiki - Powered by YouTestMe